Banana & Yogurt Dog Treats

 

                           Roscoe                                                                       Riley

Last winter I made a ton of dog treats. When making home brew we always have a lot of spent grain from the mash so I use it in dog treats. Well, I have been a little lazy and haven’t been saving any grains from our recent brews but now that it is cooler out I wanted to have the oven on for awhile. When making dog treats it is important to keep them in the oven for an hour or two to make sure they get nice and crunchy. I got the idea to make these yummy smelling banana and yogurt treats from the fancy dog food brand Blue.

The other day I picked up a couple over ripe bananas at the co-op because they seemed to be the perfect fit for my treat recipe. Besides the bananas we had everything else at home. I used regular sized cookie cutters and ended up with 50 treats! The batter smelled so good that I almost tasted it, and I could have, but they were for the dogs.

Banana & Yogurt Dog Treats

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3 cups flour
  • Mix all ingredients well and then roll out and cut out any shape. Pre-heat oven to 325. Bake for 12 minutes, turn treats, bake 12 more minutes. Then lower oven temperature to 200 and leave for 1-1/2 to 2 hours to harden.
About foodandtap

She is the cook, he is the home brewer and together they try to rein in the power of the stove. View all posts by foodandtap

Leave a Reply

